USMS Awards

Kerry O'Brien Coaching Award

The U.S. Masters Swimming Coaches Committee initiated a new award in 2008 with the goal of recognizing USMS coaches who are building our membership in communities throughout our country.  Originally named the Grassroots Coaching Award, it has been renamed to honor Coach Kerry O'Brien of Walnut Creek Masters, who embodies the passion, dedication, and heart that these coaches bring to the pool deck.  It is with the efforts of individuals like these that U.S. Masters Swimming will most certainly move to a greater level.

Past SPMS Recipients

2021 Recipients
  • Kiley Ames (West Hollywood Aquatics)
2020 Recipients
  • Christine Maki (Competitive Tri Swim Masters)
2019 Recipients
  • Shea Manning (West Hollywood)
  • Mark Stori (Santa Barbara Masters)
  • James Torres (Competitive Tri Swim Masters)
2018 Recipients
  • Erika Stebbins (UCLA)
2016 Recipients
  • Mike Lucero (Golden Road Aquatics)
2015 Recipient
  • Victor Hecker (Las Vegas Masters)
2013 Recipient
  • Doug Green (South Coast Aquatics)