SPMS Awards

Coach of the Year Award

1. The purpose of this award is to recognize the SPMS swimming coach who has demonstrated outstanding coaching qualities, club development and overall SPMS participation.
2. The criteria for the award are as follows:

a. The coach and club have been members of SPMS during the year under consideration.

b. A Coach of the Year award recipient may only win this award two times in a five year period.

c. The criteria for the award will be considered first, since November 1st of the preceding year to November 1st of the current award year (i.e., 11-01-2017 to 11-01-2018), and second, over the coach's career with his or her club. Outstanding contributions to his or her club and its individuals are measured by the following competitive and non-competitive factors:

i. Accomplishments over the past year (club and individual). Club size and growth. Club results at Nationals, regionals meet, open water, postal events, etc. Records set. All Americans and top ten ranked swimmers, etc.

ii. Publications, articles, clinics, lectures, etc. that are for SPMS and/or USMS. Submit copies of articles, publication names, clinic dates with their location and number of participants in attendance. Include dates and topics of lectures.

iii. Contributions to SPMS. Meets hosted, clinics run, SPMS positions, presentations, speaking engagements, etc.

iv. Long-term contributions to Masters Swimming. Number of years as a Masters coach, special accomplishments, etc.

3. Nominations and Selection

a. There shall generally be one award given.

b. A nomination announcement shall be published in the September/October SPMS Newsletter. SPMS & the SPMS Coaches Chair are to make an official call for nominations the first week of October. Announcements are to be made at any SPMS swim meet available to do so.

c. Nominations may be made by any registered SPMS member using the SPMS Nomination Form and listing the criteria above and the instructional and inspirational qualities of the coach.

c. The nominating form and a maximum of four supporting letters from registered SPMS swimmers shall be submitted to the Chair of the Coaches Committee by November 15th.

d. The Chair shall appoint a Selection Committee of three members. Each committee member will separately evaluate submitted information according to the criteria listed above, so that each nominee receives one point for each criteria met, listed above. The nominee with the highest aggregate score from among the committee members shall be the winner. In the event of a tie score, the Selection Committee shall meet as a whole to determine a winner from among the tied nominees based on the submitted information for the nominee's overall career with his or her club.

e. The award shall be presented on a Saturday at the SPMS Short Course Meters Championships.

4. If the SPMS Coach of The Year recipient should meet the criteria for the USMS National Coach of The Year award, then upon approval by the SPMS Coaches Committee, the Chair shall, by July 1 of the 12-month period during which the SPMS Coach of the Year retains that title, send all documentation for this award recipient in the format requested by USMS to the USMS Coaches Committee for consideration as USMS National Coach of the Year.

Past Recipients

2018   Nancy Kirkpatrick Reno - Conejo Valley Multisport Masters (CVMM)
2017   Erika Stebbins - UCLA Masters (UCLA) and Mike Lucero - Golden Road Aquatics (GRA)
2016   Nancy Reno
2015   Chad Durieux
2014   Victor Hecker
2013   Mark Moore
2012   Chad Durieux
2011   Mary Jackson Lombard
2010   Ken Brisbin
2009   Chad Durieux
2008   Nancy Reno
2007   Vanessa Mesia
2006   Tom Boyd
2005   Victor Hecker
2004   Mark Moore
2003   Mark Moore
2002   Carole Shigaki
2001   Michael Collins
1999   Brandon Seider
1998   John Kocker
1997   Gerry Rodrigues and Rick Goeden
1996   Gary Reese
1995   Philip Hayman

©2019 Southern Pacific Masters Swimming
Website Design and Database Powered by Club Assistant