SPMS Awards

Open Water Contributor of the Year Award

The SPMS Open Water Service Award honors individuals who have made significant service contributions to promoting and building excellence in USMS open water swimming in the following ways:

  • Embodies the USMS mission, vision, goals, and objectives through open water swimming service;
  • contributes to open water notably in several roles (i.e., USMS Open Water/Long Distance national committees, LMSC open water/long distance chair, event and/or safety director, official, coach, clinician, and/or volunteer);
  • contributes to open water notably at different levels of USMS (i.e. national, zone, LMSC, and/or local);
  • or demonstrates extraordinary measurable service achievement and impact.

Past Recipients

2023   Christie Ciraulo
2021   Paul Szuszkiewicz
2020   Robin Smith
2016   Sherry Brooks