Announcements

May/June 2020 SPMS Newsletter


Swim Meet Hosting Bids
We are now taking Meet bids for 2020.  Please complete the application (link below) and email to ViceChair@SPMasterSwim.org
Meet Hosts

What We're All About

Masters swimming is an organized program of swimming for adults.  Masters swimming exists to promote health and fitness to its members who participate in a variety of ways ranging from lap swimming to international competition.  Everyone has his or her own reason for joining Masters — health, fitness, camaraderie, fun, the thrill of competition, travel and coaching.  Anyone 18 years of age or older can join.  United States Masters Swimming, Inc.  (USMS) provides the national administrative structure for Masters swimming, and it supports the local Masters programs.  USMS was founded in 1970 and has 60,000 members with 1,000 local swim clubs located throughout the country.  USMS holds national championships each year for short course yards in the spring and long course meters in the summer.

Southern Pacific Masters Swimming (also known as Southern Pacific Masters Association) is part of the Southwest Zone of United States Masters Swimming.

On the local level, Masters swimming is governed by Local Masters Swimming Committees (LMSC).  The LMSCs in turn are composed of smaller groups: clubs, teams and un-affiliated swimmers.  This is the web site for the Southern Pacific Masters Swimming (SPMS); the local association that encompasses Southern California and parts of Nevada.  SPMS has more than 5,000 members.

For fitness and triathlete swimmers, being part of a Masters Swimming program provides a coached workout for help with swimming technique, and a pool full of teammates to encourage each other to continue with the swimming regimen.  USMS also offers a Fitness Series throughout the year which includes a 30-minute, 2K, and 1 mile swim.  Visit https://www.usms.org/events/fitness-events/fitness-series.  Go the Distance is a self-directed program which encourages swimmers to track their own fitness and progress. More information may be found at https://www.usms.org/gothedistance. For swimmers who are interested in comparing themselves to other swimmers, USMS sponsors three ePostal National Championship Events that include a One Hour Swim, a 5k/10K Swim and a 3,000/6,000 Event. More information is located at https://www.usms.org/nationalchampionshipsWhat Masters Swimming is all about.

Upcoming Events

Jun 05 - Today

2020 Dolfin Fran Crippen Memorial Swim Meet of Champions - rescheduled for Aug 3-16

Jun 06 - Sat

2020 Dolfin Fran Crippen Memorial Swim Meet of Champions - rescheduled for Aug 3-16

Jun 07 - Sun

2020 Dolfin Fran Crippen Memorial Swim Meet of Champions - rescheduled for Aug 3-16

Mission Viejo Nadadores Long Course Meters Swim Meet - cancelled

Jun 18 - Thu

SPMS Committee Conference Call 7:30P

Jun 19 - Fri

Santa Barbara Long Course Meters Swim Meet - rescheduled for Aug 28

Jun 20 - Sat

Santa Barbara Long Course Meters Swim Meet - rescheduled for Aug 28

51st Annual Seal Beach Rough Water Swim - postponed to Aug 15

USMS Open Water Sprint National Championship Weekend - Postponed to Aug 29

Jun 21 - Sun

UCLA Masters Long Course Meters Swim Meet - cancelled

USMS Open Water Sprint National Championship Weekend - Postponed to Aug 30

Jun 28 - Sun

SPMS Committe Chairs Face-to-Face Planning Meeting - cancelled

The Patrick Moore Memorial Relay Swim Meet - cancelled

Jul 11 - Sat

Newport Beach Pier to Pier Two Mile Open Water Swim

Jul 16 - Thu

SPMS Committee Conference Call 7:30P

Jul 31 - Fri

2020 SPMS and SW Zone Summer Championships

Aug 01 - Sat

2020 SPMS and SW Zone Summer Championships

Aug 02 - Sun

2020 SPMS and SW Zone Summer Championships

Aug 12 - Wed

2020 USMS Summer Nationals

Aug 13 - Thu

2020 USMS Summer Nationals

2020 Dolfin Fran Crippen Memorial Swim Meet of Champions - rescheduled from June

Aug 14 - Fri

2020 USMS Summer Nationals

2020 Dolfin Fran Crippen Memorial Swim Meet of Champions - rescheduled from June

Aug 15 - Sat

2020 USMS Summer Nationals

2020 Dolfin Fran Crippen Memorial Swim Meet of Champions - rescheduled from June

51st Annual Seal Beach Rough Water Swim

Aug 16 - Sun

2020 USMS Summer Nationals

2020 Dolfin Fran Crippen Memorial Swim Meet of Champions - rescheduled from June

Aug 20 - Thu

SPMS Committee Conference Call 7:30P

Aug 22 - Sat

Corona Del Mar Don Burns One Mile Open Water Swim

Aug 28 - Fri

Santa Barbara Long Course Meters Swim Meet

Aug 29 - Sat

Santa Barbara Long Course Meters Swim Meet

USMS Open Water Sprint National Championship Weekend

Aug 30 - Sun

USMS Open Water Sprint National Championship Weekend

Sep 13 - Sun

CVMM Matt Biondi Masters Classic Swim Meet - rescheduled from 3/22

Sep 17 - Thu

SPMS Committee Conference Call 7:30P

Sep 20 - Sun

2020 Mission Mile

Sep 23 - Wed

USMS Annual Convention
Ends Sun, 09/27/2020

Oct 03 - Sat

SPP Swim Meet SCM

Oct 15 - Thu

SPMS Committee Conference Call 7:30P

Oct 16 - Fri

USMS National Coaching Clinic
Ends Sun, 10/18/2020

Oct 24 - Sat

Swim with Mike Masters Workout 8:00A

Oct 25 - Sun

UCLA SCM Meet

Nov 19 - Thu

SPMS Annual Meeting 2020

Nov 26 - Thu

Turkey Brine Pier Swim

Dec 04 - Fri

2020 SPMS Short Course Meters Championships

Dec 05 - Sat

2020 SPMS Short Course Meters Championships

Dec 06 - Sun

2020 SPMS Short Course Meters Championships

2021
Jan 16 - Sat

Fabulous Las Vegas Masters SCY Swim Meet at UNLV

USMS Sponsors