



SPMS Annual Meeting Minutes Date: Thursday, November 4, 2021 Held at El Torrito Restaurant 3333 E. Foothill Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91107

Meeting Called to Order: 7:33 pm, PST Facilitator: Mark Moore (Chair) Recorder: Diana Dolan LaMar (Secretary)

Attendance

Executive Committee, Contractors, and Committee Chair Attendees (12):

Chair – Mark Moore (Mission Viejo Masters); Vice Chair – Kenny Brisbin (Long Beach Grunions); Secretary – Diana Dolan LaMar (Mission Viejo Masters); Member at Large/Awards Chair – Becky Cleavenger (Conejo Valley Masters); Open Water Chair - Robin Smith (Novaquatics Masters); History and Archives Chair/Webmaster - Robert Mitchell (Mission Viejo Masters); Sports Medicine Chair & Southwest Zone Chair – Arlette Godges (Conejo Valley Masters); Treasurer – Kris McPeak (Silver Peak Performance); Marketing/Program Development Chair - Anita Cole (Long Beach Grunions); Diversity & Inclusion Chair - Virgil Chancy (Unattached); Fitness Chair - Mary Jurey (UCLA Masters); Coaches' Chair – Charles McPeak (Silver Peak Performance);. **Absent (3)** Newsletter Chair – Jorge Ferrero (Unattached); Membership Coordinator & Top-Ten Recorder – Judi Divan (Mission Viejo Masters); Officials' Chair -Alina Perez de Armas (Mission Viejo Masters).

SPMS Member Attendees (20): Nancy Kirkpatrick-Reno (Conejo Valley Masters); Beata Konopka (Conejo Valley Masters); Andrew Barmann (Conejo Valley Masters); Christie Ciraulo (UCLA Masters); Molly Cummings (Silver Peak Performance; Pat Luangeaktrakul (Silver Peak Performance); Joelle Murphy (Silver Peak Performance); Nathan Osbome (Silver Peak Performance); Nico Salvato (Silver Peak Performance); Natasha Kopp (Silver Peak Performance); Mary Hull (Unattached); Erroll Graham (West Hollywood Aquatics); Karin Perissinotto (Santa Barbara Masters); Bart Parnes (Long Beach Grunions); Michael Collins (Novaquatics Masters); Ming Robinson (Novaquatics Masters); Barbara Moore Barnett (Mission Viejo Masters); Dan Wegner (Las Vegas Masters); Karin Wegner (Team Redbird); Bob Eberwine (South Bay Swim Team)

Total attendance – 32 members

1. Welcome and Introduction (Mark Moore, Chair)

Approve minutes from Thursday, September 23, 2021, meeting. Move that the September 23, 2021, meeting minutes are approved. **MSP**

Mark recognized the SPMS members who received National recognitions at the 2021 USMS Annual Convention:

- Ted Haartz USMS Staff Appreciation Award Kenny Brisbin, LBG
- Dorothy Donnelly Service Award Adam Larson, WH2O
- Kerry O'Brien Coaches Award Kiley Ames, WH2O
- Open Water Service Award Robin Smith, NOVA





- Fitness Award Christie Ciraulo, UCLA
- 2. SPMS Proposed Meet Schedule and Championship Meet Bids (Ken Brisbin, Vice-Chair) Move that the 2022 Proposed Meet Schedule and Championship Meet Bids are approved. **MSP**
- Presentation of the 2002 Budget (Kris McPeak, Treasurer) Kris explained the process utilized to develop the budget. A separate SPMS budget meeting was held on October 21, 2021, to gather input and to answer questions. A negative budget is presented due to reserves in the SPMS account and unknown factors regarding the USMS Relay and USMS Convention. *Move that the 2022 Proposed Budget is approved.* MSP. Robert Mitchell opposed.
- 4. Recognitions and Awards (Becky Cleavenger, Member-At-Large)
 - Open Water Paul Szuszkiewicz
 - Contributor of the Year David Johnannsen
 - Steve Schofield Award Anita Cole
 - Jim Marcus Award Alina de Armas
 - Male Swimmer of the Year Doug Kajiwara (Conejo Valley Masters)
 - Female Swimmer of the Year Bev Montrella (Mission Viejo)
 - Maureen Kornfeld Award Maureen Kornfeld

Proposed Adoption for the new SPMS Maureen Kornfeld Award recognition to be added to the SPMS Policies and Procedures:

MAUREEN KORNFELD AWARD

- 1. The purpose of this award is to recognize a SPMS member who embodies the spirit of Masters swimming and is a role model for all members in the Masters swimming community.
- 2. The criteria for the award may include:
 - a. Long-time SPMS member
 - b. Represents the heart of Masters swimming
 - c. Demonstrates care and concern for other SPMS members
 - d. Exhibits spirit and longevity in SPMS
 - e. Joyfully encourages others in their pursuit of lifelong fitness through swimming
 - f. Promotes Masters swimming
 - g. Contributes to the Masters swimming community
 - h. Passionate advocate of Masters swimming
 - i. Supports new and existing members
 - j. Volunteers to bring swimming opportunities to adults
- 3. Nominations and Selection
 - a. Nominations may be made by any registered SPMS member using the SPMS criteria above and submitted to the Awards Chair by the published deadline.
 - b. Selection will be made by Awards Committee at the first meeting following the nomination deadline and approved by the Executive Committee.
 - c. The award shall be announced at the SPMS Short Course Meters Championships and presented at the Southern Pacific Masters Swimming Annual Meeting.
- 5. Election of Officers (Mary Hull, Election Committee Chair)
 - Chair Ken Brisbin
 - Treasurer Kris McPeak





• Secretary – Diana Dolan LaMar

Member-At-Large – Becky Cleavenger

The unopposed candidates were elected by acclimation.

• Vice Chair – Arlette Godges and Robin Smith

Each candidate gave a brief statement regarding her qualifications. Eligible members voted and Robin Smith was elected as the new Vice Chair.

6. Announcements (Diana Dolan LaMar, Secretary)

- Reimbursements and Process. Diana shared a list of eligible members. Attendance at 50% plus one meeting (minimum of 5) during 2021. USMS membership dues of \$60 are reimbursed. USMS certified coaches who also met the attendance requirement are reimbursed \$30 USMS coach registration. Members who met attendance requirements may submit proof of receipt for entry fees from SPMS regional or USMS National Championship Swimming Events. Information must be sent to Kris McPeak by March 1, 2022. Must register for USMS 2022 dues by March 1.
- Anita Cole brought new SPMS stickers and swag for members and coaches
- Last minute swim meet at Mission Viejo on November 28, 2021
- IGLA in Palm Springs register by March 21, 2022
- Next Meeting is January 20, 2022, at 7:30 pm via Zoom

Meeting adjourned at 8:20 pm. MSP