

# SPMS Monthly Annual Minutes Date: Thursday, November 14, 2019 El Torrito, 3301 Atlantic Ave., Long Beach, CA 90807

Meeting Called to Order: 6:30 pm, PST

Facilitator: Mark Moore (Chair)

Recorder: Diana Dolan LaMar (Interim Secretary)

#### **Executive Committee and Committee Chair Attendees:**

Chair – Mark Moore (Mission Viejo Masters); Vice Chair – Kenny Brisbin (Long Beach Grunions); Member at Large/Awards Chair – Becky Cleavenger (Conejo Valley Masters); Interim Secretary – Diana Dolan LaMar (Mission Viejo Masters); Officials' Chair - Alina Perez de Armas (Mission Viejo Masters); Open Water Chair - Robin Smith (Novaquatics Masters); Southwest Zone Chair - Mary Hull (South West Aquatic Masters); History and Archives Chair - Robert Mitchell (Mission Viejo Maters); Marketing/Program Development Chair - Anita Cole (Long Beach Grunions); Registrar/Webmaster – Dan Wegner (Las Vegas Masters); Treasurer – Bob Eberwine (South Bay Swim Team); Fitness Chair - Mary Jurey (UCLA Masters) Absent: Coaches' Chair - Jeff Taylor (Mission Viejo Masters); Newsletter Chair – Jorge Ferrero (Unattached); Sports Medicine Chair – Arlette Godges (Conejo Valley Masters); Top-Ten Recorder - Judi Divan (Mission Viejo Masters)

SPMS Member Attendees: Virgil Chancy (Unattached); Nancy Kirkpatrick Reno (Conejo Valley Maters); Michael Collins (Novaquatics Masters); Michael Heather (Mission Viejo Masters); Christine Maki (Competitive Tri-Swim Masters); Kris McPeak (Silver Peak Masters); Bart Parnes (Long Beach Grunions); Jessica Seaton (West Hollywood Aquatics); Bill Sive (SWIM Long Beach); Karin Wegner (Las Vegas Masters); David Johannsen (Santa Barbara Masters); Coach Lauren (ROSE Bowl Masters); Barbara Moore Bennett (Mission Viejo Masters); James Torres (Competitive Tri-Swim Masters); Scott Janick-Ross (Long Beach Grunions); Christie Ciraulo (UCLA Masters); Chris McElroy (Canyons Aquatic Club)

#### **AGENDA:**

## 1. Approve minutes from Thursday, October 17, 2019 meeting.

Move to approve the October 17, 2019 minutes. MSP

### 2. Officer Reports:

Chair: Mark Moore

- 2020 Meeting Schedule will remain the same as 2019 Jan, March, April, May, June, July, September, October Conference Call Meetings. Face-to-Face meetings in February and July are planning meetings and no voting will take place. Annual meeting in November; no meeting in December.
- Special Recognitions to three SPMS members in attendance James Torres (Kerry O'Brien award); Bob Eberwine (Dorothy Donnelly award); Alina and Omar deArmas (National Championship award)



 Mark thanked and recognized the Executive Committee and Chairs for their dedication and hard work during 2019.

Vice Chair: Ken Brisbin

 The 2020 Meet Schedule and Championship Bids was distributed. MSP to approve the LCM Championship Bid from Mission Viejo Masters and the SCM Bid from Long Beach Grunions. Discussion regarding possible venues for SCY Championships.

Member at Large/Awards Chair: Becky Cleavenger

- Contributor of the Year Errol Graham
- Steve Schofield Award Ken Brisbin
- Jim Marcus Award Arlette Godges and Becky Cleavenger

Interim Secretary: Diana Dolan LaMar

• Jill Gellatly was selected as the Southwest Zone Board Member to fill the vacancy of Teddy Decker.

Treasurer: Bob Eberwine

- At the June 2019 meeting it was **MSP** to move \$100,000 from the checking account to a one-year CD that pays 2%. Bob made a motion to delay moving these funds until other impacts of the Unified Fee are better defined. Motion seconded followed by discussion. **MSP** again to move \$100,000 from the checking account to a one-year CD that pays 2% interest.
- 2020 Budget was presented followed by discussion. **MSP** to approve the budget as presented that includes the Unified Fee.

#### 3. New Business

Elections of Officers and Floor Nominations: Mary Hull

- ⇒ Chair Mark Moore (no floor nominations received)
- ⇒ Vice Chair Ken Brisbin (no floor nominations received)
- ⇒ Treasurer Bob Eberwine (no floor nominations received)
- ⇒ Secretary Diana Dolan Lamar (no floor nominations received)
- ⇒ Member at Large Becky Cleavenger and Kris McPeak (no floor nominations received). Kris McPeak asked to withdraw her name for consideration.

**MSP** to approve elections by acclamation.

Kris McPeak volunteered to shadow Bob Eberwine for the 2020 year and will speak to Chair Mark Moore regarding this.



## 4. Adjournment

Chair: Mark Moore

Mark announced that he will review the various SPMS committees and appoint chairs in January.

Mary Jurey, Fitness Chair, reminded those in attendance that the USMS Smarty Pants Fitness Challenge begins on Friday, November 15, 2019.

**MSP** to adjourn the Annual Meeting at 7:30. Next meeting is a Conference Call on Thursday, January 16, 2020 at 7:30 p.m.