

**Annual SPMS Meeting** 

Location: El Torito Restaurant, 3333 Foothill Blvd, Pasadena, CA

Date: Thursday, November 15, 2018

**Business Meeting Called to Order: 7:10 PM** 

**Facilitator: Mark Moore (Chair)** 

Recorder: Deborah Hefter (Secretary)

Attendees:

Chair – Mark Moore (Mission Viejo Masters); Vice Chair & Meet Operations Chair – Ken Brisbin (Long Beach Grunions); Treasurer – Bob Eberwine (South Bay Swim Team); Secretary – Deborah Hefter (Southwest Aquatic Masters); Member at Large & Awards – Becky Cleavenger (Conejo Valley Masters); Registrar & Webmaster – Dan Wegner (Las Vegas Masters); Top Ten Recorder – David Johannsen (Santa Barbara Masters); Coaches Chair – Jeff Taylor (Mission Viejo Masters); History & Archives Chair – Robert Mitchell (Las Vegas Masters); Officials Chair – Alina de Armas (Mission Viejo Masters); Open Water Chair – Robin Smith (Novaquatics Masters); Program Development Chair – Anita Cole (Long Beach Grunions); Sports Medicine – Arlette Godges (Conejo Valley Masters)

Virgil Chancy (Official); Tracy Chung (Competitive Tri-Swim Masters); Chad Durieux (Rosebowl Masters); Diana Dolan LaMar (Las Vegas Masters); Linda Fitzpatrick (Conejo Valley Masters); Errol Graham (West Hollywood Aquatics); Joe Godges (Guest); Michael Heather (Mission Viejo Masters); Beata Konopka (Conejo Valley Masters); Kris McPeak (Silver Peak Masters); Nancy Kirkpatrick Reno (Conejo Valley Masters); Jessica Seaton (West Hollywood Aquatics); Paul Szuszkiewicz (Official); Karen Younkins (Silver Peak Masters)

## **AGENDA**

## - MSP - October 19, 2018 Meeting Minutes Approved

Welcome and Introductions: Mark Moore (Chair)

Mark welcomed everyone to the Annual Meeting. He introduced Diana Dolan LaMar as the Fitness Chair.

<u>2019 Meet Schedule and Championship Meet Bids</u>: Ken Brisbin (Vice Chair) Ken reviewed the tentative 2019 SPMS Swim Meet schedule. Bids for the 2019 SPMS Championship Meets were received from San Luis Obispo Masters (for the 2019 SCY Championships) and Long Beach Grunions (for the 2019 SCM Championships).

-MSP- To approve the bids from San Luis Obispo Masters to host the 2019 SCY SPMS Championship Swim Meet and Long Beach Grunions to host the 2019 SPMS SCM Championship Swim Meet.



<u>Presentation of the 2019 Budget</u>: Bob Eberwine (Treasurer)

Bob reviewed the proposed 2019 SPMS Budget. Note that a hard copy of the proposed budget was distributed to the attendees and is appended to end of minutes.

## -MSP- To approve the 2019 SPMS Budget as presented.

<u>Special Recognition and SPMS Service Awards</u>: Mark Moore (Chair), Becky Cleavenger (Awards Chair)

Congratulations to the SPMS Service Award Winners for 2018:

- Jim Marcus Award: Mary Hull (South West Aquatic Masters)
- Steve Schofield Award: Christine D Maki (Competitive Tri-Swim Masters)
- Contributor of the Year Award: Arlette Godges (Conejo Valley Masters)

The SPMS Swimmers of the Year and the SPMS Coach of the Year Awards will be announced and presented at the upcoming SPMS SCM Championship Swim Meet.

Mark presented Special Recognition Awards to the SPMS Officers, SPMS Contractors, and SPMS Committee Chairs in recognition of their time and accomplishments throughout 2018.

<u>Announcements</u>: Deborah Hefter (Secretary)

- 2019 Committee Meeting Schedule -

Deborah reviewed the schedule of SPMS committee meetings for 2019. The two face-to-face planning meetings scheduled for February and July 2019 are TBD based on availability of officers, contractors and committee chairs. The 2019 Annual Meeting is also TBD at this time. The 2019 monthly conference call meetings have been posted on the SPMS website calendar.

- Reimbursement of 2019 USMS Membership and 2018 Meet Registration Fees - Per SPMS Policy, the following members will have their 2019 USMS Membership reimbursed:

Megan Andrus, Tami Barrera, Ken Brisbon, Elizabeth Carlin, Virgil Chancy, Becky Cleavenger, Anita Cole, Omar de Armas, Chad Durieux, Robert Eberwine, Linda Fitzpatrick, Michael Flaherty, Arlette Godges, Errol Graham, Michal Heather, Deborah Hefter, Mary Hull, Nancy Kirkpatrick-Reno, Beata Konopka, David Johannsen, Robert Mitchell, Mark Moore, Alina Perez de Armas, Jessica Seaton, Bill Sive, Robin Smith, Paul Szuszkiewicz, Jeff Taylor, Kim Thornton, Dan Wegner, Karin Wegner In addition, these individuals are also eligible to request reimbursement of their 2018 SPMS Championship Meet Registration Fees, 2018 USMS National Championship Meet Registration Fees.

Next conference call meeting is scheduled for Thursday, January 17, 2019 at 7:30 PM PST.



Meeting Adjourned: 8:10 PM