

Annual SPMS Meeting

Date: Sunday November 20, 2016

Business Meeting Called to Order: 4:56 PM PST

Facilitator: Mark Moore (Chair)
Recorder: Robin Smith (Secretary)

Attendees:

Chair – Mark Moore (Mission Viejo Masters); Vice Chair – Ken Brisbin (Long Beach Grunions); Treasurer – Bob Eberwine (South Bay Swim Team); Secretary – Robin Smith (Novaquatics Masters); Member at Large – Nancy Kirkpatrick-Reno (Conejo Valley Masters); Newsletter Editor – Tami Barrera (Mission Viejo Masters); Top Ten Recorder – Kim Thornton (Novaquatics Masters); Awards Chair – Nancy Kirkpatrick-Reno (Conejo Valley Masters); Coaches Chair – Christine Maki (Competitive Tri-Swim Masters); Fitness Chair – Robin Smith (Novaquatics Masters); Marketing/Program Development Chair – Anita Cole (Long Beach Grunions); Meet Operations Chair – Ken Brisbin (Long Beach Grunions); Sports Medicine Chair – Kyle Durieux (Rose Bowl Masters); Mary Hull (South West Aquatic Masters) – Southwest Zone Chair Becky Cleavenger (Conejo Valley Masters); Jax Cole (Long Beach Grunions); Trisha Commons (South West Aquatic Masters); Chad Durieux (Rose Bowl Masters); Leah Ferrassoli (Santa Clarita Masters Club); Errol Graham (West Hollywood Aquatics); Deanna Koehler (Conejo Valley Masters)

<u>AGENDA</u>

-MSP- October 20, 2016 Meeting Minutes Approved

State of LMSC Address: Mark Moore (Chair)

Mark reviewed highlights of SPMS activities from 2016. These included addressing pool and open water event sanction fees, updating bylaws and procedural documents, receiving and reviewing nominations for all SPMS and USMS awards during the year, working with USA-Swimming, hosting USMS Coach Certification courses (Levels 1, 2, and 3), marketing USMS at outside events, submitting fitness and sports medicine articles to the SPMS Newsletter, and keeping the SPMS website updated. In addition, Kim Thornton has completed compiling all individual SPMS records for SCY, LCM, and SCM swim courses – these will be posted to the SPMS website by the end of this year. Kim will be working on compiling all SPMS relay records next year.

Mark thanked the SPMS Officers, Contractors, and Committee Chairs for their time and hard work and thanked the Committee members for their participation over this past year.

2017 Meet Schedule and Championship Meet Bids: Ken Brisbin (Vice Chair)
Kenny reviewed the tentative 2017 SPMS Swim Meet schedule. SPMS will not hold a 2017 SCY
Championship Meet due to the USMS Spring Nationals being hosted by the Riverside Aquatic Center in
April 2017. There were no bids received for the 2017 LCM Championship Meet. There was one bid
received for the 2017 SCM Championship Meet – from the Long Beach Grunions.

-MSP- To approve the decision to NOT host a 2017 SPMS SCY Championship Swim Meet. To approve the bid from the Long Beach Grunions to host the 2017 SPMS SCM Championship Swim Meet. The 2017 SPMS LCM Championship Meet will be approved at a future meeting once bids for this event have been received.

Presentation of Approved 2017 Budget: Bob Eberwine (Treasurer)

Bob reviewed the approved 2017 SPMS Budget. Note that a hard copy of the approved budget was distributed to the attendees and is also posted on the SPMS website (see link below):

http://www.spmasterswim.org/c/8B6A80C/file/meetings/2016/2017 Budget v1108.pdf



<u>Special Recognition and Awards</u>: Mark Moore (Chair), Nancy Kirkpatrick-Reno (Member at Large) Congratulations to the SPMS Service Award Winners for 2016:

- Contributor of the Year Award Sherry Brooks (Mission Viejo Masters)
- Open Water Contributor of the Year Award Sherry Brooks (Mission Viejo Masters)
- Jim Marcus Award Christine Maki (Competitive Tri-Swim Masters)
- Steve Schofield Award Bob Eberwine (South Bay Swim Team)

The SPMS Swimmer of the Year Awards will be announced and presented at the upcoming SPMS SCM Championship Swim Meet.

Special Recognition Awards were also presented to the SPMS Officers, SPMS Contractors, and SPMS Committee Chairs in recognition of their time and accomplishments throughout 2016.

<u>2017 Committee Meeting Schedule</u>: Robin Smith (Secretary)

Robin reviewed the schedule of SPMS committee meetings for 2017. The two face-to-face planning meetings scheduled for February and July 2017 are TBD based on availability of officers, contractors, and committee chairs. Details for the 2017 Annual Meeting will be finalized earlier in the year to allow for advance planning of schedules and travel. The 2017 monthly conference call meetings have been posted on the SPMS website calendar.

There was some discussion regarding the pros and cons of moving the 7:30PM start time for the conference calls to either 7:45PM or 8:00PM due to coaching schedules. At this time, the conference call meetings will continue to begin at 7:30PM. There was also discussion and feedback regarding the conference call provider GoToMeeting.

Reimbursement of USMS Membership and Meet Registration Fees: Robin Smith (Secretary)
Per SPMS Policy, the following members will have their 2017 USMS Membership reimbursed:
Megan Andrus, Ken Brisbin, Sherry Brooks, Elizabeth Carlin, Virgil Chancy, Anita Cole, Jax Cole, Pam Conboy, Omar de Armas, Chad Durieux, Bob Eberwine, Michael (Mikey) Flaherty, Errol Graham, Michael Heather, Mary Hull, Lucy Johnson, Nancy Kirkpatrick-Reno, Christine Maki, Robert Mitchell, Mark Moore, Alina Perez de Armas, Jenny Richter, Jessica Seaton, Bill Sive, Robin Smith, Kim Thornton, Dan Wegner, Karin Wegner

In addition, these individuals are also eligible to request reimbursement of their 2016 SPMS Championship Meet Registration Fees and 2016 USMS National Championship Meet Registration Fees.

Announcements/Adjournment: (All)

Anita Cole mentioned that she is not being made aware of new SPMS Masters teams and had a question about the chain of communications and notifications when a new team initially registers with SPMS.

Chad Duriuex had a question about the possibility of providing a "hot spot" at swim meet locations where there is little to no internet access. He pointed out that this would make it easier for the meet administrators to upload heat/lane assignments and unofficial results to specified web-based meet management software. Bob Eberwine will form a subcommittee to look into this issue.

Next conference call meeting is scheduled for Thursday January 19, 2017 at 7:30 PM PST.

Business Meeting Adjourned: 5:40 PM PST