Announcements

November/December 2019 SPMS Newsletter


SPMS Coach of the Year Nominations
Criteria
Nomination Form


SPMS Unified Fee
Beginning November 1, 2019, based upon a SPMSC membership voting, SPMS is participating in the USMS unified fee of $60 per year.


SPMS Annual Meeting
The 2019 Annual Meeting is November 14, 2019. You must be present at the annual meeting to vote. 5:30 - 8:00 PM, El Torito, Long Beach, CA. Meeting starts at 6:00 PM. Registration is required, but free.

https://www.clubassistant.com/club/clinics/reserve.cfm?c=1781&cid=83821

SPMS Swimmer of the Year Nominations
Nominations for SPMS Swimmer of the Year are due October 15. Details can be found here:
https://www.spmasterswim.org/swimmer-of-the-year/


SPMS Board Nominations
Nominations as of 10/1/2019:
Chair: Mark Moore
Vice Chair: Kenny Brisbin
Secretary: Diana Lamar
Treasurer: Bob Eberwine
Member At Large: Becky Cleavenger and Kris McPeak


Swim Meet Hosting Bids
We are now taking Meet bids for 2020.  Please complete the application (link below) and email to ViceChair@SPMasterSwim.org
Meet Hosts

What We're All About

Masters swimming is an organized program of swimming for adults.  Masters swimming exists to promote health and fitness to its members who participate in a variety of ways ranging from lap swimming to international competition.  Everyone has his or her own reason for joining Masters — health, fitness, camaraderie, fun, the thrill of competition, travel and coaching.  Anyone 18 years of age or older can join.  United States Masters Swimming, Inc.  (USMS) provides the national administrative structure for Masters swimming, and it supports the local Masters programs.  USMS was founded in 1970 and has 60,000 members with 1,000 local swim clubs located throughout the country.  USMS holds national championships each year for short course yards in the spring and long course meters in the summer.

Southern Pacific Masters Swimming (also known as Southern Pacific Masters Association) is part of the Southwest Zone of United States Masters Swimming.

On the local level, Masters swimming is governed by Local Masters Swimming Committees (LMSC).  The LMSCs in turn are composed of smaller groups: clubs, teams and un-affiliated swimmers.  This is the web site for the Southern Pacific Masters Swimming (SPMS); the local association that encompasses Southern California and parts of Nevada.  SPMS has more than 5,000 members.

For fitness and triathlete swimmers, being part of a Masters Swimming program provides a coached workout for help with swimming technique, and a pool full of teammates to encourage each other to continue with the swimming regimen.  USMS also offers a Fitness Series throughout the year which includes a 30-minute, 2K, and 1 mile swim.  Visit https://www.usms.org/events/fitness-events/fitness-series.  Go the Distance is a self-directed program which encourages swimmers to track their own fitness and progress. More information may be found at https://www.usms.org/gothedistance. For swimmers who are interested in comparing themselves to other swimmers, USMS sponsors three ePostal National Championship Events that include a One Hour Swim, a 5k/10K Swim and a 3,000/6,000 Event. More information is located at https://www.usms.org/nationalchampionshipsWhat Masters Swimming is all about.

Upcoming Events

Sep 15 - Sun

USMS 3000/6000-Yard ePostal National Championship
Ends Fri, 11/15/2019

Nov 15 - Today

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Nov 16 - Sat

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Nov 17 - Sun

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Nov 18 - Mon

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Nov 19 - Tue

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Nov 20 - Wed

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Nov 21 - Thu

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Nov 22 - Fri

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Gobbler Classic Short Course Yards Swim Meet

Nov 23 - Sat

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Gobbler Classic Short Course Yards Swim Meet

Nov 24 - Sun

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Gobbler Classic Short Course Yards Swim Meet

Nov 25 - Mon

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Nov 26 - Tue

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Nov 27 - Wed

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Nov 28 - Thu

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Turkey Brine Pier Swim (not sanctioned this year)

Nov 29 - Fri

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Nov 30 - Sat

USMS Fall Fitness Challenge 1-Mile Swim

Dec 06 - Fri

2019 SPMS Short Course Meters Championships

Dec 07 - Sat

2019 SPMS Short Course Meters Championships

Dec 08 - Sun

2019 SPMS Short Course Meters Championships

2020
Jan 01 - Wed

UCSB Masters Freestyle Camp
Ends Sun, 01/05/2020

Jan 18 - Sat

Fabulous Las Vegas Masters SCY Swim Meet at UNLV

Apr 04 - Sat

Swim with Mike Masters Workout 8:00A

Apr 23 - Thu

USMS National Short Course Yards Championships

Apr 24 - Fri

USMS National Short Course Yards Championships

Apr 25 - Sat

USMS National Short Course Yards Championships

Apr 26 - Sun

USMS National Short Course Yards Championships

Aug 12 - Wed

2020 USMS Summer Nationals

Aug 13 - Thu

2020 USMS Summer Nationals

Aug 14 - Fri

2020 USMS Summer Nationals

Aug 15 - Sat

2020 USMS Summer Nationals

Aug 16 - Sun

2020 USMS Summer Nationals

Sep 23 - Wed

USMS Annual Convention
Ends Sun, 09/27/2020

Oct 16 - Fri

National Coaching Clinic
Ends Sun, 10/18/2020

USMS Sponsors

©2019 Southern Pacific Masters Swimming
Website Design and Database Powered by Club Assistant