SPMS Awards

Coach of the Year Award

Swimmer of the Year Award

Jim Marcus Appreciation Award

Steve Schofield Distinguished Service Award

Contributor of the Year Award

Club Swimmer of the Month Award

USMS Awards

USMS presents a number of awards annually to members who have excelled in various areas. The details and recipients of each type of award may be found int the link below. Also available here are lists of all award recipients for any given year.

USMS Awards

Dorothy Donnelly Award recipients from SPMS

Each year in October, we send an email similar to the one below to the SPMS membership:

Subject: SPMS Swimmer of the Year Awards, Jim Marcus Award and Steve Schofield Award

Now is the time to start considering nominating someone for one or more of the SPMS awards that are presented each year at the Short Course Meters Championship meet in December.  The SPMS Awards committee presents plaques to the winners of four different awards: Male Swimmer of the Year, Female Swimmer of the Year, the Jim Marcus Award, and the Steve Schofield Award.

For many years, recipients of Swimmer of the Year have been the fastest swimmers in Southern Pacific Masters Swimming.  To reflect the evolving values of the committee the Swimmer of the Year award now recognizes SPMS swimmers who have displayed exemplary commitment to Masters swimming, achieved personal success at SPMS swim meets and/or open water races, and have been an inspiration to others.

In order to be eligible for the Swimmer of the Year Awards, candidates must have been a member of SPMS in 2013 and must have competed in two or more SPMS swim meets or open water races.

The Jim Marcus Award is presented each year to an SPMS member who has made outstanding contributions to Masters Swimming, such as support and leadership, recruitment of members, and commitment to furthering the objectives of Masters swimming programs.

The Steve Schofield Award is presented each year to an SPMS member who has made outstanding contributions to SPMS, such as support and leadership, program development, and promotion of SPMS at his or her club.

Nominations for the awards should be submitted no later than October 31st with a letter describing the swimmer's attributes to